“Sadness, confusion, loss and the road to Emmaus”: Video of my Passover/Easter message

emmausroadOn Wednesday night, I had the honor of teaching at a wonderful church in Tucson, Arizona. It is shepherded by Pastor Robert Furrow. When I had first accepted in the invitation last fall, I had intended to teach about “The Future of the Middle East In Light of Bible Prophecy.” But in the meantime, Robert’s dear wife, Lisa, went home to be with the Lord after a very difficult battle with cancer.

Having been to Tucson numerous times over the years to teach with and for Robert and Lisa, and having built a sweet friendship with them both, and having prayed for the Lord to let this cup pass from them both, I was so saddened when I got the news. It was hard to fathom such a strong and faithful woman of God was gone. I was happy for her — she is well and whole and worshipping in the presence of Jesus. But I was grieved for Robert and his family and his congregation. It was an honor, therefore, to be out there this week. I was glad to be able to spend time with Robert, and pray with him, and listen as he shared with me the hard road he’s been on since the Lord took Lisa home to heaven.

In that context, I didn’t feel I was supposed to teach about the Middle East. Rather, I felt moved to teach about the two Jewish disciples on the road to Emmaus, about their sadness and their confusion and their deep sense of loss, perhaps even betrayal, when the man they thought was the Messiah was betrayed, arrested and crucified.  Here is the link to the audio and the video of the message. I hope you and your family will take some time to listen to the message and share it with others. And may the Lord bless you, and comfort you, and encourage you this Passover and Easter season.

>> “Sadness, Confusion, Loss & The Road To Emmaus (Luke 24:13-31)”

>> Also: “My Spiritual Journey”

Discover more from Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading